Atlas of British Columbia: people, environment, and resource use

In 1956, the first resources atlas of British Columbia was published by the British Columbia Natural Resources Conference. It was a remarkable achievement, representing the combined effort of the many people in industry, university, and government who comprised the conference. As a source of information about British Columbia, it was an outstanding reference and was […]

UBC Professor, Director, and Senior Scientist is honoured

Dr. Michael Hayden has received the Canada Gairdner Wightman Award, the premier honour for leadership in medical science in Canada. Hayden, a professor in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of British Columbia and director and senior scientist at the Centre for Molecular Medicine and Therapeutics at the Child & Family Research Institute, was […]

Keeping the Olympic spirit alive with cIRcle

It may be a year since the 2010 Winter and Paralympic Games ended – but cIRcle is keeping the spirit, debate and dialogue that helped define the event alive. cIRcle – also known as UBC’s information repository ( – is a digital storehouse for the University’s intellectual output. The site, which launched in 2008 by […]

2011 Innovative Dissemination of Research Award Winner

Dimas Yusuf, a second-year UBC medical student, is this year’s recipient of UBC Library’s Innovative Dissemination of Research Award. Yusuf’s submission, entitled Transcription Factor Encyclopedia (TFe), is a wiki-based software system that houses more than 800 articles about TF genes. This special class of genes is critical to learning how to use embryonic stem cells […]

CRW 2011 @ UBC: CfIS, IRC and H+L Health FEST 2011

The Celebrate Research Award Gala is an invitation-only event for distinguished members of UBC’s research community. This special evening recognizes UBC researchers who have received top prizes and accolades from UBC or external agencies in BC, Canada and internationally.  Congratulations to the most recent winners of UBC’s Faculty Research Awards!  All award winners will be […]